handmade-hostess-book-arrival

Handmade Hostess just came out. And, oh what a spectacular book it is!

Kelly Lee-Creel and Rebecca Soder teamed up, and their work is just impeccable. The book shows us 12 party ideas from top to bottom. And within those 12 occasions, there are 37 craft projects (favors, decorations, name tents…) all with complete instructions and templates on how you could achieve the same results for your party.

8186878634_83ce0ea5cf_n

They show us a St. Patrick’s Day party, and one of the decorations is a clothes line with leprechaun laundry drying on it. So cute!

One of the most important things about a book for me is “will I be able to do this at home?” And this book addresses that concern beautifully. These parties are spectacular, and clever, but they are also very “real life”. They really look like you could host one at your house (without moving your family out, and hiring a full time staff the week before. And let’s be real here, sometimes it feels like that is what it would take!)

One of my other favorites is a “Mad Scientist” party:

8186877202_49e4dc2c51

She gives us a full template to make this Lab Rat. (so great, with little corduroy paws!) But also – look in the background – that clever beaker display! It adds such a punch, but it is completely non-toxic, non-erupting, and non-messy. Win, win, win. I have fiber fill in a closet that is just waiting to be stuffed into a beaker!

I am really excited about this book. I have gone through it once, and I will be going through it again. It is really a great source of inspiration and ideas! Thanks Kelly and Rebecca!

 

By susan cornish




Comments

16 Comments so far

  1. Book Give Away: Handmade Hostess · Party Ideas And Planning | CraftGossip.com on March 5, 2013 10:22 am

    [...] Handmade Hostess: Book Review [...]

  2. Joan on March 6, 2013 1:37 am

    What a fun book!

  3. Mary T on March 6, 2013 1:47 am

    How cute! I must make that lab rat! LOL

  4. Jackie Posnansky on March 6, 2013 2:41 am

    I would love some new entertaining ideas! Looks like a great book!

  5. paola on March 6, 2013 5:03 am

    Just because I would love to have it and maybe help a friend of mine who is a great florist and she is now trying to organize small parties to somehow overcome the economic crisis we are all facing….

  6. Sharon S on March 6, 2013 7:09 am

    I love to entertain with great tablescapes. This looks like a good book to do it with.

  7. Maryse on March 6, 2013 7:57 am

    OMG…..this is solo sweet I gotta have it ;)Thx

  8. Roseanna B on March 6, 2013 11:07 am

    How cute are these ideas…awesome book review!

  9. Ivory Spring on March 6, 2013 5:33 pm

    Looks like an awesome book – love the project previews!

  10. carol on March 7, 2013 12:24 pm

    this is a really fun book, very creative, would love to make use of it for my grand children’s party’s, St Patrick’s day, birthdays, Easter and all through the year

  11. MARIA JOSE on March 8, 2013 9:13 am

    It will be very usefull for our parties.
    Thanks, Mª José

  12. everkelly on March 11, 2013 12:14 pm

    Thank you for the great write-up about the book! I am so happy to hear that you think the projects work in “real life,” too. That part was really important to us. :-)

  13. smstefania on March 26, 2013 12:11 pm

    Great ideas, and much fun!
    A book for any occasion… a book for all party and craft lovers!

  14. tara o. on March 26, 2013 1:05 pm

    Looks like a really great book with adorable ideas!I will be planning my son’s 9th birthday real soon, this would be a great resource.

  15. Reine on March 27, 2013 12:34 am

    Ooo I love to throw dinner parties & I can never think of great themes or how to do them – this would be perfect!

  16. Pat morris on March 27, 2013 4:25 am

    Very cute stuff in this book:-)

Name (required)

Email (required) - but not published

Website

Speak your mind, and then click submit comment





    Sponsors














Follow on Bloglovin

follow us in feedly